Jump to content

starchyk

Members
  • Content Count

    283
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    25

Everything posted by starchyk

  1. September was a good month, even though I spent a bit on new furniture and still haven’t gotten my desk, or the reimbursement for it. I need to get the desk and send my boss a picture before I can be reimbursed, and it was ordered (and paid for) in August but it’s shipping internationally and still hasn’t arrived! But wow, it feels good to just be able to buy the thing with savings and not even have to worry about floating it on a card while I wait for reimbursement! In happier news, it was 3 pay month in Sept, and I’ve got over $7k in my EF now! I was actually just shy of that milestone when I did my budget, so I went back and moved $10 from my clothing budget to my EF. I don’t really need much in the way of clothes right now anyway. I want some leggings and cozy sweaters, but I don’t need anything. I find I spend a lot less on clothes now that I don’t go to the office! I am glad that I have been putting $ away for travel. I have started planning to visit my family for Christmas and it’s looking like there will still be a 14 day isolation period to visit Atlantic Canada. So that’s going to be a pricy Airbnb. I can’t isolate at my parent’s place because they would need to isolate too and they work, plus we would likely kill each other. Again, I am so grateful to have savings so I can just pay for it.
  2. Thank you all for the encouragement! September is a three pay month, and I just did the budget for tomorrow’s cheque- I will have two months in my EF once I make tomorrow’s savings transfers! And even though I bought a desk (being reimbursed by work, but no idea how long that will take, so it’s budgeted!) I will still have over 10K Total in my savings accounts!
  3. I haven’t been as intense as I should be on BS3... I have been here for over a year and still don’t have a full FFEF. Lots of reasons, but I AM saving, and I am never going back into debt! My FFEF goal is 17,500, which would be 6 months of bare bones expenses. I want to reach 3 months, or 8,750 by the end of this year. However, I hit a milestone this week: I have just over $5000 in my EF savings account! Whoo-hoo! And looking at my budget I have a total of over $10,000 in my “short term” savings category (which is my EF plus my sinking funds - travel, gifts/Christmas, and big purchases.) realizing that in a true emergency I could draw on the sinking funds to get by gives me such a feeling of security! I also have an investment account for down payment savings that could in a worst case scenario be liquidated- it’s just over $11k right now! So I guess I actually do have 6+months available to me, even if I haven’t named it my EF. I do still plan to build up the FFEF account to $17,500, because I know I need $ named just for emergencies, but realizing I have lots of options Even while I am getting there gives me a ton of peace.
  4. I am struggling with both isolation and togetherness- when this started I offered for my boyfriend to stay here thinking it would be a couple of weeks. He was still going to the office everyday and I didn’t want him taking the train (from my place he can walk) and risking himself and even more his parents who live with him and are in their 70s. So now we are both working from home most days (he still goes in once a week) in my tiny apartment. It’s going better than I would have thought, but my daily runs (alone) and the days he goes to the office being alone is delightful. At the same time I am missing my wider social circle- I have regular video chats but it is just not the same! I am hoping we can arrange a picnic sometime soon with a few people and keep our blankets 6 feet apart.
  5. If you are staying downtown, or near to a subway stop, I would reconsider the rental car. Driving in Toronto is awful - too congested and too many aggresive drivers. Pretty much everything to see as a tourist is downtown, and easily accessed by foot, or TTC. And in the downtown area, it's often faster to walk than drive short distances, or grab a bixi (bike share). I'm in Toronto, send me a pm if you want some suggestions of stuff to see and places to eat.
×
×
  • Create New...